Youtube still doesn’t work for me

So Googles enemies are circling, planning an avalanche of quality content and exciting technology. Great.

I’ve been thinking about TV a lot recently. Apart from about 3 shows a week I hardly watch TV, despite recently buying a new LCD that barely fits in my lounge due to an old CRT exploding. I watch the odd Daily Show clip that catches my eye. And thats it. So why do I want to watch web TV?

The answer, to me, seems to be so that I will see the first episode of the next Office, or Peep Show sooner than the mid point of the run. Social networking, peer recommendation, the digg of teevee – whatever you call it – it has to be immediate, twittery, and so highly targeted that it squeals.

The point of squeal, for me, is the point where as I watch a new show I can immediately flow it into the top 10 of my contacts who I think will enjoy it. And where doing that will bump this show up the general list for people tagged similarly to those friends I sent it to. I don’t want to pick what I watch, I’m too busy doing other things, I’m quite happy to have my friends tell me which episode of the  Daily Show was funniest this week.

If this new play can tackle that problem and deliver it on my lounge screen and my office screen then it will work. But I doubt it can. Maybe one of the tiny players can truly nail that challenge in Meta and take a steal as the natural home for hyper niche new content. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

